Our hotel

Our hotel

“Oifach Guat”, which means ‘simply good’ in Swabian dialect could also mean seasonal, regional and sustainable in standard German. A motto that is lived not only in the kitchen, but throughout the hotel. It is in this spirit together with great passion and conviction that Horst Schmidt and his family manage the LandZunge Plus company and the Hotel-Landgasthof Kreuz.

History

Our hotel history

According to historical records guests have been welcomed at the “Wege Kreuz” since 1427. Thus, the Hotel-Landgasthof Kreuz is one of the oldest documented guesthouses in Baden-Würtemberg. In 1929 the Bohner family acquired the Baron Waldenburg/Wolfegg “Zum Kreuz” estate in Mattenhaus. Their daughter, Ingeborg Schmidt (born Bohner), took over the country inn in 1967 and together with her husband converted the farm buildings into an hotel. The next generation followed in 2002. Since then Horst Schmidt and his two sisters Sandra and Marlies manage the family business and take care of the guests’ well-being.

Team

Family Schmidt

The family trio of Horst Schmidt, Sandra Auer and Marlies Fimpel is supported by a dedicated team. More than 15 employees work at the hotel, in the kitchen and around the hotel. For decades Landgasthof Kreuz has also provided training for apprentice chefs and service staff. Horst Schmidt is a committed member of the Board of Examiners of the Chamber of Commerce for the training of professional chefs.

Unser Haus

Unser Haus

„Oifach guat“ in schwäbischer Mundart könnte auf Hochdeutsch auch saisonal, regional und nachhaltig heißen. Ein Motto, das nicht nur in der Küche, sondern im ganzen Haus gelebt wird. In diesem Sinne, mit viel Herzblut und Überzeugung, führt Horst Schmidt und seine Familie den LandZunge Plus Betrieb, das Hotel-Landgasthof KREUZ.
KREUZ Flyer Download (PDF)

Geschichte

Unser Haus früher

Nach den historischen Überlieferungen wurden schon seit 1427 am „Wege Kreuz“ Gäste empfangen. Somit gehört das Hotel-Landgasthof KREUZ zu den ältesten, urkundlich erwähnten Gasthöfen BadenWürttembergs. Im Jahr 1929 erwarb die Familie Bohner den Fürstlichen Waldburg/ Wolfegg´schen Gutshof Mattenhaus „Zum Kreuz“. Die Tochter, Ingeborg Schmidt (geb. Bohner), übernahm den Landgasthof im Jahr 1967 und baute, gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann, das landwirtschaftliche Gebäude, zum Hotel um. Die nächste Generation folgte 2002. Horst Schmidt und seine beiden Schwestern Sandra und Marlies führen seitdem das Familienunternehmen und sorgen für das Wohlbefinden der Gäste.

Team

Familie Schmidt

Das Familientrio: Horst Schmidt, Marlies Fimpel und Sandra Auer wird tatkräftig von einem engagierten Team unterstützt. Über 15 Angestellte arbeiten im Hotel, in der Küche und rund ums Haus. Landgasthof KREUZ ist seit Jahrzenten außerdem ein Ausbildungsbetrieb für Köche und Servicekräfte. Horst Schmidt ist ein engagiertes Mitglied der IHK-Prüfungskommission für den Ausbildungsberuf Koch.